Theft & Property Crimes in North Carolina
It is against the law in North Carolina to damage or take and/or damage someone else’s property. Known as theft and property crimes, these specific offenses include:
- Breaking and Entering
- Larceny/ Theft/ Shoplifting
- Criminal Trespass
The penalty for theft or a property crime depends on several factors, including the value of the property in question and the severity of the charge. For example, first degree burglary is a Class D felony that could result in up to 160 months in prison, while second degree burglary is a Class G felony, punishable by a 31-month prison term. At the other end of the spectrum, trespass in the second degree is a Class 3 misdemeanor, punishable by a $200 fine and 20 days in jail.
The good news is that there are viable defense strategies and potential plea bargains that can result in a better outcome in your case.
If you are charged with theft or a property crime in North Carolina, it is essential that you consult with an experienced attorney right away to begin building your defense, as these cases are prosecuted aggressively in our state.