Assault on a Female in North Carolina
North Carolina’s laws governing assault cover a multitude of offenses. However, there are some specific instances where a simple assault charge will be elevated from a Class 2 misdemeanor to a more serious Class A1.
Assault charges are often elevated due to the type of victim involved in a case. For example, if the alleged assailant is a male over the age of 18, he will face a Class A1 assault charge for assaulting a female.
Under the law, assault does not necessarily mean that the defendant put his hands on a woman; he can be charged If the victim feels that she was in imminent danger. For example, if the defendant raised his hand to strike her or pointed a gun at her, he could be charged with assault.
Penalties for Assault on a Female
If convicted, the penalties for this Class A1 misdemeanor include:
- Jail sentence of up to 60 days
- A discretionary fine that may be imposed by the judge
If you have been convicted of one to four prior offenses, the jail term may be extended up to 75 days; 5 or more convictions will result in up to 150 days in jail.