Marijuana Drug Crimes
While many states have legalized marijuana for medicinal and/or recreational use, it is still illegal to use or possess for any reason in North Carolina.
Marijuana is a Schedule I drug, which means that the penalties for possession, trafficking and manufacture of this substance are serious.
Penalties for Marijuana-Related Offenses
You can be charged with selling, manufacturing, delivering, transporting or possessing marijuana in North Carolina. The specifics of and penalties for your offense will depend on the amount of the drug that was found at the time.
- Possession for Personal Use is a misdemeanor, punishable by:
- .05 ounces or less: $200 maximum fine
- .05 ounces to 1.5 ounces: one to 45 days in jail, $1,000 maximum fine
- 5 ounces to 10 pounds: 3 to 8 months in jail, maximum $1,000 fine
- Possession with Intent to Distribute and Sale or Delivery are felony offenses, with penalties as follows:
- 10 to 50 pounds: 25 to 39 months in prison, maximum $5,000 fine
- 50 to 2,000 pounds: 35 to 51 months in prison, maximum $25,000 fine
- 2,000 to 10,000 pounds: 70 to 93 months in prison, maximum $50,000 fine
- 10,000 pounds or more: 175 to 219 months, maximum $200,000 fine
Additional penalties can be incurred if you attempted to distribute, sell or deliver marijuana to a pregnant woman or a minor.
Marijuana Drug Crime Defense
While marijuana use is becoming more commonplace across the country, it is important to remember that it is still considered an illegal drug in our state. If you or a loved one is facing marijuana-related drug charges, contact Floyd Law Offices right away for a free, no-obligation review of your case.