First Offense DWI in North Carolina
North Carolina takes a notoriously tough stance on DWI offenders. There are six potential penalty levels for DWI that varies depending on the severity of the crime.
The specific penalties in each level range from time in jail for all persons sentenced after January 1, 2015 regardless of the length of the sentence, as well as the installation of an ignition interlock device on your vehicle. It is likely that you will also have to pay a fine ranging from $200 to $1,000, depending on your specific sentence.
Criminal Sentencing Levels
The penalties for a first offense DWI will be assessed depending on the sentencing level of your particular case. The details of each level are below:
The North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) may impose certain penalties in addition to those you receive as part of a criminal conviction. In fact, these penalties may be effective before your case even goes to trial.
- Your license will be civilly suspended for 30 days, although you may file for limited driving privileges after 10 days
- If you refused the breath test, your license could be automatically suspended for one year